Unterscheidbarkeit Firmen-Gebäude-Rafaela-verne-unsplash
– April 18, 2024

The distinctiveness of companies

In its decision of August 28, 2023, the Federal Supreme Court clarified the question of the requirements for the distinctiveness of two companies (BGer 4A_238/2023).

Nobilis Estate AG (plaintiff) has been entered in the commercial register since February 2012. In June 2021, NOBILIS Switzerland GmbH (defendant) was entered in the commercial register. In an action filed in November 2021, the plaintiff sought to prohibit the defendant from operating a company with the element “NOBILIS”. The lower court upheld the action, the defendant appealed to the Federal Supreme Court.

Requirements for the company

Colloquially, we use “company” to refer to the entire company. In legal terms, the “company” is the designation of a company or cooperative, its name, so to speak. Art. 951 CO requires that the company name of a trading company or cooperative be clearly distinguishable from all other companies of this type already registered in Switzerland. In the event of a conflict, the owner of the older company name can take legal action to stop the use of the younger company name. However, there must be a risk of confusion, which is examined by the court.

In principle, trading companies and cooperatives are free to choose their company name. For this reason, case law places high demands on the distinctiveness of companies. These are stricter if two companies are in competition with each other, for example if they pursue the same purpose, or if they target the same clientele for other reasons (especially if the companies are geographically close).

Concept of likelihood of confusion

Whether two companies are sufficiently different must be assessed on the basis of the overall impression they make on the public. The companies must not only be clearly distinguishable from each other when carefully compared at the same time, but it must also be possible to keep them apart in the memory.

Company components that stand out due to their sound or meaning are particularly memorable. This is why they are more important for the assessment of the overall impression.

In our case, the designation “Nobilis” or “NOBILIS” is the element that must be examined for likelihood of confusion. The following words “Estate” and “Switzerland” only refer to the respective field of activity and territory, which is why they are only slightly distinctive. These are not capable of eliminating a likelihood of confusion.

In the present case, the Federal Supreme Court affirmed the likelihood of confusion and dismissed the appeal of NOBILIS Switzerland GmbH. The latter was not allowed to use the company name.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING

Unterscheidbarkeit Firmen-Puzzle-Rafaela-poole-unsplash
– April 18, 2024

Die Unterscheidbarkeit von Firmen

In seinem Entscheid vom 28. August 2023 klärt das Bundesgericht die Frage nach den Anforderungen an die Unterscheidbarkeit zweier Firmen (BGer 4A_238/2023).

Die Nobilis Estate AG (Klägerin) ist seit dem Februar 2012 im Handelsregister eingetragen. Im Juni 2021 liess sich die NOBILIS Switzerland GmbH (Beklagte) in das Handelsregister eintragen. Mit Klage vom November 2021 wollte die Klägerin der Beklagten verbieten, eine Firma mit dem Bestandteil «NOBILIS» zu führen. Die Vorinstanz hiess die Klage gut, die Beklagte gelangte an das Bundesgericht.

Anforderungen an die Firma

Umgangssprachlich verwenden wir «Firma» und meinen das ganze Unternehmen. Juristisch ist die «Firma» die Bezeichnung einer Gesellschaft oder Genossenschaft, quasi ihr Name. Art. 951 OR verlangt, dass sich die Firma einer Handelsgesellschaft oder einer Genossenschaft von allen anderen in der Schweiz bereits eingetragenen Firmen solcher Gesellschaften deutlich unterscheidet. Bei einem Konflikt kann der Inhaber der älteren Firma auf Unterlassung des Gebrauchs der jüngeren Firma klagen. Dafür muss allerdings eine Verwechslungsgefahr bestehen, was vom Gericht geprüft wird.

Grundsätzlich können Handelsgesellschaften und Genossenschaften ihre Firma frei wählen. Deshalb stellt die Rechtsprechung hohe Ansprüche an die Unterscheidbarkeit von Firmen. Diese sind strenger, wenn zwei Unternehmen zueinander im Wettbewerb stehen, sie also beispielsweise den gleichen Zweck verfolgen, oder wenn sie sich aus anderen Gründen an die gleichen Kundenkreise wenden (insbesondere bei geographischer Nähe der Unternehmen).

Begriff der Verwechslungsgefahr

Ob sich zwei Firmen ausreichend unterscheiden, muss aufgrund des Gesamteindrucks geprüft werden, den sie beim Publikum hinterlassen. Die Firmen müssen sich nicht nur bei gleichzeitigem aufmerksamem Vergleich deutlich voneinander unterscheiden, sondern sie müssen auch in der Erinnerung auseinandergehalten werden können.

In Erinnerung bleiben vor allem Firmenbestandteile, die durch ihren Klang oder Sinn herausstechen. Deshalb kommt ihnen eine höhere Bedeutung für die Beurteilung des Gesamteindrucks zu.

In unserem Fall stellt die Bezeichnung «Nobilis» beziehungsweise «NOBILIS» den Bestandteil dar, der auf die Verwechslungsgefahr hin geprüft werden muss. Das jeweils folgende Wort «Estate» und «Switzerland» weisen nur auf den jeweiligen Tätigkeitsbereich und das Gebiet hin, weshalb ihnen nur eine kleine Kennzeichnungskraft zukommt. Diese sind nicht geeignet, eine Verwechslungsgefahr zu beseitigen.

Das Bundesgericht bejahte im vorliegenden Fall die Verwechslungsgefahr und wies die Beschwerde der NOBILIS Switzerland GmbH ab. Letztere durfte die Firma nicht verwenden.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING